Season 2012

Butterfly Press Release

Content Cover Image

Madama Butterfly

Verismo Opera Presents Madama Butterfly by Giacomo Puccini

Tickets & information: (707) 864-5508, or Mira Theatre (707) 552-0400 Pacifica Performances (650) 355-1882, Brown Paper Tickets 800-838-3006 Ticket Prices $16-20.

Stage Director, Frederick Winthrop and Conductor, Michael Shahani

Piano and Chamber Orchestra

Hear the most popular opera in North America, full of Puccini’s sumptuous music interwoven with Japanese motifs.  This heartbreaking tale of love, self-delusion & betrayal takes place in Nagasaki in the early 1890s.  A young geisha (Cho-cho-san) deserted by her husband (Pinkerton), a U.S. Naval Officer, chooses to die honorably, rather than suffer in shame after learning of the betrayal.  Special moments include:  the soaring Act One Love Duet, and the Act 2 sighting of Pinkerton’s ship and joyous Flower Duet where the fragrance of Spring is released as flower petals are strewn everywhere.

opera, classical music, theater, Puccini, performing arts

Pacifica Performances, Mildred Owens Concert Hall, 1220 Linda Mar Blvd., Pacifica 94044
- August 4, Saturday, 7:30pm

Bay Terrace Theater (with Mira Theatre Guild), 51 Daniels Avenue, Vallejo, CA 94590
http://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/264636
- August 10, Friday, 8:00pm
- August 11, Saturday, 7:30pm
- August 12, Sunday, 2:00pm
- August 17, Friday, 8:00pm
- August 18, Saturday, 7:30pm
- August 19, Sunday, 2:00pm
- August 24, Friday, 8:00pm
- August 25, Saturday, 7:30pm
- August 26, Sunday, 2:00pm

The Sequoias, 1400 Geary Blvd., San Francisco CA  94109-6561

September 11, Tuesday, 7:00pm

Glossary

Citation

Sims, M. (2017). Butterfly Press Release. Retrieved from http://www.verismoopera.org/view/article/51cbf41c7896bb431f6aeee3